Comparison
Kling vs Runway: Kling 3.0 Against Gen-4.5, Job by Job
Published By DreamClip
Kling vs Runway is two different purchases: Kling 3.0 on DreamClip for a single clip from a prompt or a photo, Runway for editing footage and minute-long sequences. DreamClip does not host Runway Gen-4.5 or any other Runway model; its Kling cards are Kling 3.0 and its 4K version, Kling O3 Omni and Kling V3 Turbo, with Veo 3.1 and Seedance 2.5 beside them. Runway is a subscription studio with its own Gen-4.5 model, the Aleph 2.0 editing tools and, as of October 2026, a shelf of other labs' models that includes Kling 3.0. DreamClip is a video studio that bills each run from prepaid credits, and each model card shows the price it starts from before you press anything.
On the model, the call by job is clear enough. Open Kling 3.0 for a product shot, a vertical or square social clip, a single take up to 15 seconds with sound, or a 4K deliverable on its 4K card. Stay on Runway when the clip will be edited in Aleph straight after, when you need a minute-long sequence of several shots, or when the specific look of Gen-4.5 is the brief. And if what you want is Kling 3.0 itself, it is in both places; the differences are the billing, the end frame (Runway's Kling 3.0 page lists one, our Kling cards take a start frame only) and what sits beside it.
Below: a spec table with Runway's public facts dated and Kling 3.0's printed from our catalog, editing, billing without a single number, and who should not switch. If you want to see for yourself, Compare runs one prompt on up to four of our models side by side, billing only the lanes that deliver.
Kling vs Runway: what we run and what we do not
We run Kling 3.0 and three Kling siblings, Google's Veo 3.1 and ByteDance's Seedance 2.5. We do not run any Runway model; our Runway page says the same thing in two lines. Runway, for its part, lists Kling 3.0, Kling O3, Veo 3.1 and Seedance 2.5 among the third-party models in its own app (checked October 2026), so the overlap runs one way. Here is where each job lands, so you can stop reading early if the answer is Runway.
| The job | Where it lives | Note |
|---|---|---|
| A product shot with physical motion | Where it livesKling 3.0 on DreamClip | NoteWeight, liquid and fabric, with the object's own sound |
| A single take of 10 to 15 seconds | Where it livesKling 3.0 on DreamClip | NoteAny whole second from 3 to 15, priced by the second |
| A native 4K deliverable | Where it livesKling 3.0 4K on DreamClip | Note4K at every length, no upscale step |
| A square feed post | Where it livesKling 3.0 on DreamClip | NoteRenders 1:1 natively |
| A spoken line to camera | Where it livesVeo 3.1 on DreamClip | NoteDialogue and lip movement generated with the picture |
| A clip that must end on a second image | Where it livesSeedance 2.5 on DreamClip | NoteTakes a start and an end frame here; our Kling cards take a start frame only |
| A minute-long sequence of several shots | Where it livesRunway Gen-4.5 | NoteLong-form, multi-shot output, added in December 2025 |
| Editing an existing video with a text instruction | Where it livesRunway | NoteAleph 2.0 is the product; see the editing section |
| The look of Gen-4.5 specifically | Where it livesRunway | NoteRunway's own model, and not on sale here |
The pattern is plain: a single clip from a prompt or a photo is a Kling 3.0 job more often than not, and long sequences and the work around the clip are where Runway's suite earns its subscription. Most people reading this will end up using both, and that is a reasonable outcome.
Gen-4.5 vs Kling 3.0: the spec table
First the models we run, printed from the catalog. Lengths and sizes are what the DreamClip studio allows, which is not always the maximum a maker lists elsewhere.
| Model | Maker | Clip lengths | Sizes | Sound | Start frame | Reference photos |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kling 3.0 | MakerKling | Clip lengths3 to 15 s | Sizes720p, 1080p | SoundYes, on by default | Start frameYes | Reference photosNo |
| Kling 3.0 4K | MakerKling | Clip lengths3 to 15 s | Sizes4K | SoundYes, on by default | Start frameYes | Reference photosNo |
| Kling O3 Omni | MakerKling | Clip lengths3 to 15 s | Sizes720p, 1080p | SoundYes, off by default | Start frameYes | Reference photosNo |
| Kling V3 Turbo | MakerKling | Clip lengths3 to 15 s | Sizes720p, 1080p | SoundNo | Start frameYes | Reference photosNo |
| Veo 3.1 (with audio) | MakerGoogle | Clip lengths4, 6 or 8 s | Sizes720p, 1080p | SoundYes, on by default | Start frameYes | Reference photosNo |
| Seedance 2.5 | MakerByteDance | Clip lengths4 to 30 s | Sizes480p, 720p, 1080p | SoundYes, on by default | Start frameStart and end | Reference photosNo |
Each preview below was made by the model on its card, and the card opens that model in the studio.
- KlingKling 3.03 to 15 s · 720p, 1080p
- KlingKling V3 Turbo3 to 15 s · 720p, 1080p
- KlingKling 3.0 4K3 to 15 s · 4K
- KlingKling O3 Omni3 to 15 s · 720p, 1080p
- GoogleVeo 3.1 (with audio)4, 6 or 8 s · 720p, 1080p
- ByteDanceSeedance 2.54 to 30 s · 480p, 720p, 1080p
Now the two headline models side by side. The Runway column holds only what Runway published and the date we checked it; where Runway's own post is silent, the cell says so rather than guessing.
| Setting | Runway Gen-4.5 (public facts, checked October 2026) | Kling 3.0 on DreamClip |
|---|---|---|
| Maker | Runway Gen-4.5 (public facts, checked October 2026)Runway | Kling 3.0 on DreamClipKuaishou (Kling) |
| Released | Runway Gen-4.5 (public facts, checked October 2026)December 1, 2025, per Runway's research post | Kling 3.0 on DreamClipThe 3.0 line; Kling's site now announces 4.0 |
| Clip length | Runway Gen-4.5 (public facts, checked October 2026)Up to a minute in multi-shot mode, per the December 2025 update | Kling 3.0 on DreamClipAny length from 3 to 15 s |
| Size | Runway Gen-4.5 (public facts, checked October 2026)Not stated in the Gen-4.5 post | Kling 3.0 on DreamClip720p or 1080p; 4K on the Kling 3.0 4K card |
| Shape | Runway Gen-4.5 (public facts, checked October 2026)Not stated in the Gen-4.5 post | Kling 3.0 on DreamClip16:9, 9:16 or 1:1 |
| Sound | Runway Gen-4.5 (public facts, checked October 2026)Native audio, added December 11, 2025 | Kling 3.0 on DreamClipYes, on by default, with a switch |
| Start frame | Runway Gen-4.5 (public facts, checked October 2026)Image to video listed among the modes coming to Gen-4.5 in the launch post | Kling 3.0 on DreamClipYes |
| End frame, reference photos | Runway Gen-4.5 (public facts, checked October 2026)Keyframes listed among Runway's control modes in the same post | Kling 3.0 on DreamClipNo; Seedance 2.5 takes an end frame here |
| Where you run it | Runway Gen-4.5 (public facts, checked October 2026)Runway's app, on its paid plans | Kling 3.0 on DreamClipThe DreamClip Video studio, prepaid credits |
Two rows deserve a sentence. Runway's launch post for Gen-4.5 described text to video and said image to video, keyframes and video to video would follow; ten days later Runway added native audio and minute-long, multi-shot generation, as TechCrunch reported on December 11, 2025. The model has moved since launch, so check Runway's own pages before assuming either way. On the Kling side the cells are our catalog: Runway's Kling 3.0 page lists start and end frame control for the model, but on DreamClip the Kling cards take a start frame only.
Text to video quality and prompt adherence
Runway's post introduced Gen-4.5 as the top-ranked model on the Artificial Analysis text to video board at launch, ahead of Google's Veo 3 and Kling 2.5 on that board. That is Runway's claim, dated December 1, 2025, and it was a strong launch. Two things have moved since: Kling 2.5 on that board is an older generation than the Kling 3.0 on sale here, and Google's Veo 3 has been replaced by Veo 3.1. We have not run a benchmark of our own, and this page does not invent one.
What Kling 3.0 tends to keep and drop when a prompt is crowded is easier to describe. It keeps the action and the camera move. It tends to flatten atmosphere, so a prompt that leans on mood words comes back plainer than you wrote it. The fix is to describe what the mood looks like: not moody, but a single window of low light and dust in the air.
A prompt order Kling 3.0 reads well
- The camera: a slow push in, a locked-off frame, a handheld follow.
- The subject and one action: a courier lifts a crate onto a van.
- The setting and the light: a loading bay at dawn, sodium lamps still on.
- One or two sounds: the crate scraping the floor, a reversing beep.
- The look, in a few words: photoreal, shallow depth of field.
The Kling 3.0 prompt on DreamClip can run to 2,500 characters, far more than a good shot needs. Shorter prompts adhere better on every model we run, because there is less for the model to drop. Our text to video page collects prompts in this order for Kling and Veo.
Image to video and reference consistency
Runway's Gen-4 tools were known for consistency features: references that hold a character or a location across shots, and keyframes that pin the first and last image of a clip. The Gen-4.5 launch post lists keyframes among the control modes coming to the new model, and the December 2025 update added character consistency across shots, so check Runway's pages for what Gen-4.5 takes on the day you read this.
Kling 3.0 on DreamClip takes a start frame, and that is all it takes. Choose Kling 3.0 with a start frame, upload the photo and write only the motion; the clip opens on your image. End frames and reference photos are not part of it here, and the same goes for every Kling card on DreamClip, even though Runway's Kling 3.0 page lists an end frame for the model.
When the job needs what Runway's keyframes do, pick a DreamClip model with both a start and an end frame: Seedance 2.5 has them, at up to 30 seconds. For a subject assembled from several photos, Seedance 2.0 Fast offers a reference mode.
- Shoot or render the still in the shape you will deliver, so nothing is cropped: Kling 3.0 renders 16:9, 9:16 and 1:1.
- One motion per clip. A turn on a turntable, a pour, steam rising. Two motions is where the image starts to tear.
- Pick a still with the subject clear of the frame edges, so the camera can move without cutting into it.
Starting from stills is covered model by model on the image to video page.
Editing: Runway's suite vs DreamClip's edit tools
This is the section where Runway is simply the bigger product. Runway sells an editing environment: Aleph 2.0 and an Edit Studio that change an existing clip from a text instruction, and a row of single-purpose tools around them, from Add Dialogue to Relight Scene, as its product page lists them (checked October 2026). If your day is spent changing footage rather than making it, that suite is the reason to keep the subscription.
DreamClip's edit surface is narrower: four single-job tools in the Editor. Remove Background cuts the background out of a clip, Motion Transfer moves a character photo with the motion of a driving video, Lip Sync makes a mouth match a new line, and Upscale to 4K sharpens a finished clip. The Video Restyle tool re-renders a clip in a look you describe while keeping its motion and framing. None of these is a Runway model.
| Editing job | On Runway, October 2026 | On DreamClip |
|---|---|---|
| Change a clip from a text instruction | On Runway, October 2026Aleph 2.0 and Edit Studio | On DreamClipVideo Restyle for a new look; no general text edit |
| Put a performance on a character | On Runway, October 2026Add Performance | On DreamClipMotion Transfer, in the Editor |
| Cut the background out of a clip | On Runway, October 2026Change Backdrop | On DreamClipRemove Background, in the Editor (cuts it out; no replacement backdrop on video) |
| Make a mouth match a new line | On Runway, October 2026Add Dialogue | On DreamClipLip Sync, in the Editor |
| Relight a shot | On Runway, October 2026Relight Scene | On DreamClipNot on sale here today |
| Upscale a finished clip | On Runway, October 2026Upscale Video | On DreamClipUpscale to 4K, in the Editor |
In short: for editing, Runway has more tools and one place to chain them; DreamClip has four single-purpose tools, each billed per run. For making the clip in the first place, the comparison in the sections above holds.
Subscription vs per-run billing, in plain terms
This section has no numbers on purpose; both sides change theirs, and a stale figure would be worse than none. The structures are what matter, and they are different.
Runway bills through a subscription. A paid plan carries a monthly credit allowance, each generation draws it down at a per-second rate that differs by model, and on most of its plans the monthly credits reset at renewal while credits bought on top do not expire, as Runway's pricing page reads in October 2026. The practical effect is that the allowance is the budget whether or not the month needs it, and the marginal clip feels free until the allowance runs out.
DreamClip bills per run from prepaid credits. Kling 3.0 is priced by the second, with the size and the sound switch moving the rate, so a 15 second clip costs about five times a 3 second one at the same settings. The price is held when you submit and settled only when a verified clip is delivered; a failed run is released, never charged. The card for each model prints its starting price, so the cost of a clip is known before it is made.
- Lots of short drafts and a few long keepers: per-run billing favours you, because you pay for exactly those seconds.
- A fixed monthly volume used every month: a subscription allowance can be the cheaper shape, if you actually use it.
- Silent clips: Kling 3.0 with sound off and Kling V3 Turbo cost less per second than the same clip with a soundtrack.
Whichever shape you pick, the number to watch is takes per keeper: per-run billing rewards a model that lands in two takes, and an allowance hides one that needs six.
Where each falls short
Kling 3.0 on DreamClip
- A start frame only on DreamClip: no end frame, no reference photos, no keyframes. Seedance 2.5 covers the end frame here.
- Fifteen seconds in one shot is the ceiling on our Kling cards; a minute-long sequence is several clips cut together.
- Speech is not its strongest suit; a spoken line is a Veo 3.1 job first, as Veo 3.1 vs Kling 3.0 sets out.
- The standard card tops out at 1080p; 4K is its own card at a higher rate per second.
- No editing suite. The Editor is a set of single-job tools.
- Kling's site, checked October 2026, already announces Kling 4.0; this page covers the 3.0 line and O3 Omni, which are what is on sale here.
Runway Gen-4.5
- Not available on DreamClip.
- Image to video and the other control modes were promised for Gen-4.5 after launch, so check their status on the day.
- Output sizes and shapes are not stated in the launch post; check Runway's pages before you plan a 4K or square delivery.
- A subscription: the monthly allowance is the budget, and on most plans what you do not use resets, as of October 2026.
Who should stay on Runway
Some readers should not switch. These people should keep their Runway subscription, and may still want a DreamClip account for the clip itself.
- Editors whose work is changing footage with Aleph 2.0 or Runway's single-purpose tools. Nothing here replaces that suite.
- People who need minute-long, multi-shot sequences from one prompt, which Runway added to Gen-4.5 in December 2025.
- Teams with a shared Runway workspace, assets and review flow already in place.
- Anyone whose client approved the Gen-4.5 look on a previous job. Matching it with a different model is a new approval, not a swap.
- People who use the allowance to the last credit every month, for whom a subscription is the right shape.
- Anyone who wants Kling 3.0 and Runway's tools under one subscription: Runway's app lists Kling 3.0 as of October 2026.
Everyone else mostly wants a clip: a product shot, a vertical ad, a long take, a 4K master. That is the job Kling 3.0 was put on sale for, with Kling 3.0 4K for the master, Kling O3 Omni as a second opinion and Kling V3 Turbo for silent cuts. The Kling page collects product prompts written for the family.
Moving a Runway prompt to Kling 3.0 on DreamClip
A prompt written for Runway moves to Kling 3.0 with one change: put the camera first. Then run it the cheap way before the expensive way.
- In Compare, on video, put Veo 3.1 (with audio), Kling 3.0 and Kling O3 Omni in three lanes. Make Seedance 2.5 the fourth if the clip will need an end frame later.
- Paste the prompt, reordered: camera, subject and action, setting and light, sound, look.
- Run it. The first pass is a sketch: every lane at 16:9, its shortest length and lowest size. If a lane fails, its hold is released.
- Play the lanes with sound on and keep the one you would post without another take.
- Open the winner in the Video studio, set the length, size and shape the job needs, and render the keeper. When the job wants a 4K master, run that same prompt again on Kling 3.0 4K.
Keep Runway for the editing if that is where your work lives, and make the clip on whichever model wins your own test.
Questions
Is Kling better than Runway?
For a single clip from a prompt or a photo, Kling 3.0 is a strong buy: up to 15 seconds in one take, square framing, sound with the picture and a 4K card, billed per run. For editing existing footage or a minute-long multi-shot sequence, Runway's suite is the bigger product. Many people use Kling for the clip and keep Runway only if they live in its editing tools.
Can I use Kling on Runway?
Yes. As of October 2026, Runway lists Kling 3.0 and Kling O3 among the third-party models in its app, on its paid plans. Kling 3.0 is also on Kling's own site and on DreamClip, which bills it per run from prepaid credits.
Is Runway Gen-4.5 available on DreamClip?
No. DreamClip does not host any Runway model. It runs Kling 3.0, Kling 3.0 4K, Kling O3 Omni, Kling V3 Turbo, Veo 3.1, Seedance 2.5 and other video models in its Video studio.
What is the Gen-4.5 model?
Runway's own video model, released on December 1, 2025, per Runway's research post, which introduced it as the top-ranked model on the Artificial Analysis text to video board at launch. It launched with text to video; native audio and minute-long, multi-shot generation followed on December 11, 2025, as TechCrunch reported.
Does Runway Gen-4.5 generate sound?
Yes, since an update on December 11, 2025, as TechCrunch reported it; the launch post did not describe sound. Kling 3.0 on DreamClip renders sound with the picture too, and has it on by default.
Which is cheaper, Kling or Runway?
They are billed differently, so there is no one answer. Runway is a subscription whose monthly credit allowance each generation draws down by the second. DreamClip bills each Kling 3.0 run from prepaid credits by the second, holds the price at submit and never charges a failed run. A Kling clip's starting price is on its card in the studio.
Does Kling 3.0 take an end frame on DreamClip?
No. On DreamClip every Kling card takes a start frame only, although Runway's Kling 3.0 page lists start and end frame control (checked October 2026). If the shot must end on a second image, switch to Seedance 2.5: it accepts both a start and an end frame here, at up to 30 seconds.
Related
- AlternativesRunway Text to Video and Image to Video Alternatives for 2026Runway text to video and image to video alternatives: Kling 3.0, Veo 3.1 and Seedance 2.5 run directly, with video tools and an MCP connector for agents.
- GuideHow to Use Kling AI: Kling 3.0 for Text and Image to VideoHow to use Kling AI on Kling 3.0: text to video, image to video from a product photo, Motion Transfer, O3 Omni, 4K and the prompts that work.
- ComparisonVeo 3.1 vs Kling 3.0: Which AI Video Model to Pick in 2026Veo 3.1 vs Kling 3.0 on sound, clip length, 4K, start frames and motion, with the pick for ads, social clips and cinematic shots, and how to test both.